Central House of Scientists
CENTRAL HOUSE OF SCIENTISTS ON PRECHISTENKA
The Central House of Scientists is one of the oldest mansions on Prechistenka Street. At the heart of its 18th century chamber. He changed owners, style, facades, interiors, but all the time he was an open hospitable mansion and loved many guests. Among its owners are famous names: the Arkharovs, after whom even the police regiment was named Arkharov’s; Naryshkins is a surname that since the time of Peter 1 has always aroused keen interest. Moreover, Ekaterina Aleksandrovna Naryshkina was the aunt of Natalya Nikolaevna Goncharova and Pushkin visited this house because of a relative. In the second half of the 19th century, as often happens in Moscow, the high society owners are replaced by the bourgeoisie – the Serpukhov merchants Konshins.
In 1910, the old mansion was rebuilt by the widow of the textile manufacturer Konshin in the style of classical luxury. Rich stucco ceilings, fancy chandeliers, amazing type-setting parquet, which is still preserved in some rooms – all this created a luxurious decor in the house. Architect A.O. Gunst designed the renewal of the mansion on a large scale, not embarrassed by the means. Thanks to him, Konshina’s house rightfully took its place among the most luxurious buildings in Moscow at the beginning of the 20th century.
The House of Scientists has always interested Muscovites. And now we have the opportunity to visit his front rooms with a tour. We will examine the front suite – a white hall, a musical drawing room, a women’s boudoir, a front bedroom and the famous winter garden with a huge Italian window and columns made of real marble. And you will also see miracle vacuum cleaners, a secret door, a French sculpture.